The H.C. Recktenwald Prize

The H.C. Recktenwald Prize, with its generous endowment, ranks among the highest awards honouring academic economists and is conferred on scholars with outstanding contributions and achievements in the field of economics.

The first award ceremony took place in 1995. There are currently five Prize Winners, all world-famous economists, three of whom were later awarded the Nobel Memorial Prize in Economic Sciences.

Nominations for the Prize come from a group of internationally recognised scientists. The selection of the winning candidate is the decision of a standing international committee of economic experts. The committee is appointed by the President of the University of Erlangen-Nuremberg, who also officially grants the Recktenwald Prize in a ceremony in Nuremberg.